About Us  
  About Retreats  
  Contact Us  

Franciscan International Award                 "It's a relaxing night out, a chance to dress up a bit, enjoy 

Thursday, May 10, 2018                                        an excellent meal and hear a compelling speaker in                                                                                                                                       support of a familiar local cause"

                                     2018 marks the 60th presentation of the Franciscan International Award


Risen Savior Missions - Glorifying GOD by Helping Starving Children



Thursday, May 10, 2018
6:00 pm - Gathering with social hour 
7:00 pm - Dinner
               Presentation of award following dinner



 The Wilds Golf Club, 3151 Wilds Parkway Northwest, Prior Lake, MN 55372



$65 Individual (1 person)
$150 Sponsor (2 persons)
$250 Patron (2 persons)
$500 Benefactor (2 persons)


Please call the retreat center to purchase tickets - 952-447-2182.


Since 1959, The Franciscan International Award has honored men, women and organizations who symbolize the spirit and the apostolic zeal of St. Francis of Assisi. Previous recipients of the award include: Dr. Billy Graham for True Ecumenism (1972); Dr. Mildred Jefferson, M.D. - as a leader in the Pro-Life Movement (1978); Habitat for Humanity - for making available housing for the poor (1999); Sister Helen Prejean - for being an advocate for those on death row, their victims, their families, and the families of their victims (2003) and Fran Heitzman, the founder of Bridging for helping families to furnish homes with hope (2014) and last year, Beacon Interfaith Housing Collaborative, for believing in a home for everyone.  For 59 years the Franciscan International Award Dinner has been an opportunity for retreatants and friends of the retreat house to gather together and support the ministry of the Retreat House, as well as honoring a person or an organization who embodies the spirit of St. Francis of Assisi..

History of the Franciscan International Award/past recipients

Each year the Order of Friars Minor Conventual presents an award to an individual or to an organization which is committed to serving the Ideals of Christ, especially as they were proclaimed by St. Francis of Assisi. This Franciscan International Award is presented yearly by the Conventual Franciscans on behalf of Franciscan Retreats and Spirituality Center, Prior Lake, Minnesota.

The Franciscan Order was founded in 1209 as an Order within the Roman Catholic Church by St. Francis of Assisi. St. Francis had many devoted friends and benefactors among the inhabitants of his native Italy. Many of these were especially honored by being awarded honorary membership with the Franciscan Order. So, from the very beginning of the Order, individuals who served others in an outstanding way were given a "Franciscan Award" for their acts of charity. That custom endures to the present day and was the basis for reestablishing the Franciscan International Award In 1959.


1959  Mr. and Mrs. I.A. O'Shaughnessy -- Family Life
1960  Archbishop William Brady – Journalism
1961  Mr. Lawrence Welk - Family Entertainment
1962  Mr. Charles Kellstad - Business
1963  Dr. Finn J. Larsen - Science
1964  Dr. Charles W. Mayo - Medicine
1965  Mr. Ara Parseghian - Athletics
1966  Mr. F.K. Weyerhaueser - Conservation
1967  Alcoholics Anonymous - Social Service
1968  Mr. James T. Griffin - Promoting Ideals Among Youth
1969  Mr. George Harris - Promoting Civic Welfare
1970  Baroness Catherine DeHueck Doherty - Womanly Virtue
1971  Mr. Harry Reasoner - Communications
1972  Dr. Billy Graham - True Ecumenism
1973  Dr. & Mrs. J.C. Wilke - Pro-Life Movement
1974  Governor Patrick C. Lucey - Criminal Justice Reform
1975  Mr. and Mrs. Joe Rigert - Interracial Justice
1976  Dr. B.F. Pearson, M.D. - Healing Ministry
1977  Mr. Francis MacNutt - Spiritual Healing
1978  Dr. Mildred Jefferson, M.D. - Pro-Life Movement
1979  Fr. Bruce Ritter, O.F.M. Conv. - Youth Ministry
1980  Mr. John E. McCarthy - Work in Refugee Affairs
1981  Fr. William B. Wasson - Work with Orphaned and Disabled Children
1982  Lorand and Anna Andahazy - Classical Arts
1983  Fr. Urban Wagner, O.F.M. Conv. - Founder of Franciscan Retreats
1984  Gerald and Patricia Mische - Global Awareness Education
1985  John Michael Talbot - Contemporary Christian Music
1986  Wilko B. Schoenbohm - Service to the Disabled
1987  Sesame Street Staff - Excellence in the Education of Children
1988  Sister M. Giovanni, SSND - Work with Today's Youth
1989  Rabbi Max A. Shapiro - Work in Jewish-Christian Dialogue
1990  Loaves and Fishes Too - Feeding the Hungry
1991  Madonna Kerber - Volunteer Work with Prisoners and the Disadvantaged
1992  Father Kenneth J. Roberts - Catholic Priest\Evangelist
1993  Sisters of St. Clare - Dedicated Lives of Prayer and Contemplative Living
1994  Carolina Mata-Woodruff - Advocacy for Migrant Workers
1995  Rainbows for all God's Children  - Healing for Those Who Grieve
1996  Archbishop John Roach - Outstanding Church Leadership
1997  Marty Haugen - Composer of Liturgical Music
1998  National Evangelization Teams - Catholic Youth Ministry
1999  Habitat for Humanity - Housing for the Poor
2000  Mary Jo Copeland of "Sharing and Caring Hands" for mobilizing help to the poor. 
2001  Janet Krocheski -- For Leadership for Life. 
2002  Friars Regis Armstrong, Bill Short, and Wayne Hellmann, for Franciscan Scholarship
2003  Sister Helen Prejean -- Advocate for those on Death Row, their victims, their families, and the families of           their victims.
2004  Jacob Wetterling Foundation -- for promoting and protecting the integrity of children.
2005  Camp Heartland -- for providing summer recreation to children with HIV/AIDS
2006  Worldwide Marriage Encounter -- for supporting and celebrating Marriage
2007  The Knights of Columbus -- for service to one and all.
2008  Archbishop Harry J. Flynn, DD, for Servant Leadership 
2009  The Cristo Rey Network, transforming Urban America One Student at a Time
2010  Fr. Juniper Cummings, OFM Conv. for Building and Rebuilding the Church 
2011  CaringBridge
2012  Fr. Michael Joncas, for contributions to the liturgy and sacred music
2013  Gina Tupy, for inspiring, evangelizing and motivating our young people
2014  Fran Heitzman, founder of Bridging, the largest non-profit furniture bank in North America
2015  Feed My Starving Children
2016 Beacon Interfaith Housing Collaborative 

2017 VEAP (Volunteers Enlisted to Assist People) For Neighbors Serving Neighbors In Need

16385 Saint Francis Lane - Prior Lake, MN 55372 - 952-447-2182 - email: secretary@franciscanretreats.net